Skip to content

Masdevallia princeps

April 28, 2010

Masdevallia princeps

This species grows in central Peru near Tarapoto. There is not much info on this species.

My plant is from Ecuagenera. The flowerstake is about 50 cm long so it´s a huge Masdevallia! The flower itself about 15 cm.

Grow this in very humid conditions with lots of light. When I saw the flowerspike starting to grow last summer I gave it some fertilizer now and then. Temperatures +10° min and + 20°C max! Lots of airmovement!

The interesting thing was that the flowerspike grew nothing in months. Suddenly this winter it started to grow. And the last 2 months it grew fast!

Wonderful species that I can recommend to all orchidlovers that have these conditions in their vivaria/garden..

Masdevallia princeps

Masdevallia princeps

Masdevallia princeps

Masdevallia princeps

Masdevallia princeps

Masdevallia princeps

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2010 07:29

    It is wonderful Pontus!! Nice photos too. I must get me one of these! 🙂 I like how your blog is coming along too.

    Karma

  2. May 8, 2010 22:48

    Stunning species and great capture, Pontus!

    /Thomas

  3. December 12, 2010 02:05

    Very nice indeed, i am getting envious of all these fab pictures. I really need to learn more photography so i can really notebook my Masdevallia collection.
    And i need to look at my species list to see if i have M.princeps, i honestly cannot remember if i have or not!

    Regards Keith

Leave a Reply

