Skip to content

Orchid seedlings in my vivaria!

December 7, 2012

Some weeks ago I saw some green “stuff” growing on my Rhododendron branch that I have in my vivaria. After a closer look I saw that it was small orchid seedlings. Very tiny but still orchids. 0.4-2mm in size. I find that amazing.

The branch comes from a dead Rhododendron outside here in Sweden. I have had it for a year in the Vivaria. Haven´t planted any orchids on the branch yet. Have some orchids hanging on it. I have no idea what species these small plants could be. Have some species that have had seedpods in the vivaria. Among those: Masdevallia sp, Pleurothallis sp, Lepanthes sp….

So this is a mystery. But hopefully soon I will know what it is.

I never thought I would have orchid seedlings growing like that in my vivaria. More info about the sp etc will come in the future!

One thing is fore shure. I must have a decent orchid climate in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!

Seedlings in my vivaria!. This is the biggest of them. About 2 mm.

Seedlings in my vivaria!. This is the biggest of them. About 2 mm.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2012 03:36

    now that is very cool life happens!

  2. Malin Olsson permalink
    December 7, 2012 11:24

    Thats amazing! Look forward to find out what it is.

  3. Piet Dubbeldam permalink
    December 10, 2012 10:22

    and you have the proper mold.

  4. January 25, 2013 19:30

    Wow, that is great and will be very interesting to see what grows!

Leave a Reply

