Skip to content

Looking for Fernandezia sp high up at the Belmira paramo – Colombia

September 10, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

During my visit in Colombia with a research team from the Botanical gardens in Gothenburg/Sweden one of our locations were high up above Belmira, north of Medellin – Colombia. We had a very nice day up on the Paramo after several hours of walking. Up there, next to a small lake, were a very dense cloud forest. I took of my shoes and explored the forest barefoot. The forest was very dense and full of orchids. And there I found many plants of Fernandezia sanguinea. I use to grow them at home in my vivaria but they are very hard to get to survive. Here it was fantastic to see them growing on moss covered branches every were. The forest is at around 2900 meters altitude. The next thread I will show what other orchids etc I found.

Belmira Paramo

The high altitude lake.

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea. Seems to be that species.

Barefoot in the cloud forest.

Finally I found my first Fernandezia in the Paramo forest at around 2900 meters

Finally I found my first Fernandezia in the Paramo forest at around 2900 meters

Me_Belmira7

Selfie. Mee looking for orchids.

Belmira Paramo

The cloud forest next to the lake were I found a lot of orchid species.

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

Fernandezia sanguinea (Lindl.) Garay & Dunst. 1972

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alen Pros permalink
    September 10, 2014 18:24

    A very good photo and artikel, I love it, congratulations from a mini orchid colletor in Belgium
    Me name : Alen Pros,

    • September 10, 2014 22:39

      Thank you for thoose kind words Alen! What minis do you grow?
      Regards

      Pontus

  2. September 12, 2014 14:43

    Absolutely fantastic. Thank you for the in situ pics Chad

Leave a Reply

